Hello world!

WARNING: This my very first blog! I am a total newbie to this blogging world, so please bare with me!!

I am a 22 year old grad student trying to balance all the struggles of life. I am striving to become a healthier, happier, and all around better person. Being fresh out of college, my body/attitudes are changing. I am developing healthier eating habits along with more regular physical activity. I am wanting to change my body/health for the better. I have been reading other healthy/active bloggers posts for about a month now & am now determined to begin one of my own!

I have recently joined a local gym and have been attending for roughly a month. I begin with 25 mins on the elyptical followed by abs then a rotation of 3 sets of 12 reps on arms/legs depending on which day I am exercising upper or lower body.  I can see a slight change, but I really emphasize slight. I know these things take time, but it is starting to get to me…

However, I have been having some recent health problems: throughout the day since back in November, my stomach has been bloating up quite a bit. I figured it was because of the holiday food & not eating right or working out. I even started eating lots of yogurt bc I heard it is good for digestion. No luck. Bloating continued. Went to an urgent care facility when it became painful about 6 weeks ago. They took blood & x-rays, told me I was just badly constipated & prescribed I drink Miralax for a week. My blood results came back a few days later & my liver enzymes are slightly elevated. Went to see a gastrointerologist (who took 7 MORE vials of blood) just to tell me that all tests came back negative, but liver enzymes were still slightly elevated. I’m still having pain & bloating & went to searching the internet to diagnose what is going on with my body.

I went to WebMd  and went through the symptoms diagnosis process to get to a few options. When I was weeding through the possiblities, the one that stood out the most to me was ovarian cysts. My symptoms seem to match up to almost all that are listed: pain or bloating in the abdomen, dull ache in the lower back, weight gain, & loss of appetite, feeling full quickly. The pain is located in my lower left abdomen & there appears to be nothing in that area but my ovary or my colon. I am having normal bowel movements & bloating is not brought on by eating, so I do not think it’s an issue with my colon. Ugh! I have an apointment with my gyno & gastrointerologist in the upcoming weeks-still 3 weeks ago though-& will be getting a CT scan to see if the doctors can figure out what is going on–FINALLY!!! Here’s to hoping!

Well, I am off for today. Going to go for a hike outside with my bestie, Kel to get our heart rates going before we hit the gym to work our legs today!

**Note: Pics are to come soon! I am doing this while at work so do not have access to my pics on my computer! 😉

Leave a Reply

