Confusion…

So this past weekend was quite eventful. My older sister who lives in South Carolina, came up for the weekend to visit with a friend in Lexington, KY & to attend Keeneland-a horse track downtown. The plan was to meet at home in Eastern KY at our parents house so sister Kate could leave her Great Dane, Maddie to stay with the “grandparents” while we went to Lexington. I arrived home early Friday evening and spent some quality time visiting with my family and catching up on our previous weeks. My mom was grilling chicken out on the deck and cooking up a feast for her kids to come home to. The wonderful meal consisted of grilled BBQ chicken, green beans, hashbrown casserole, and a salad. I took a piece of chicken & cut it up into my salad for a MONSTER grilled chicken salad with some green beans & a bit of casserole for the side. Sooo yummy! Nothing like a home cooked meal by my momma. After dinner, my dad even built a fire outside in our firepit. I love sitting outside on a comfortable evening by a fire. My little brother & I even roasted some marshmallows-something I hadn’t done in forever. Talk about tastey!

Saturday morning rolled around a bit too quickly-had to get up at 6:30 to get ready & hit the road. We had an hour & a half drive to Lexington to get to the horse track in time for the gates to open & of course, tailgate.  It was a bit chilly when we first arrived so we started the tailgating festivities sitting my two door cavalier-mind you there were 4 of us in there 🙂  The weather was a little sketchy that morning & the wind was blowing like crazy, so there was quite a chill in the air. All us girls were in dresses too because the day before was gorgeous & 85!!

Jess, Katie, & Me

The weather began to clear up & the sun even came out to thaw us out a bit so we headed to the entrance to see what this horse race was all about. We walked into the stadium & there was a sea of people.

Me & Jess

Me & my winning ticket!

My winning horse on the big screen

The grass in the infield was so beautiful & green & the atmosphere was so exciting–especially when the horses are let out of their gates at the start of each race. We mingled & watched about 6 races throughout the afternoon & I even bet on the last race before we left & won $6.20 because my horse came in 2nd! I was so excited! I have never gambled before & I won! :))

After we left the horsetrack, we went back to our friend’s apartment to start getting ready for dinner & a night out on the town. We had dinner at this AMAZING place called Baker’s 360 on top the Chase building in Lexington. I tried sushi for the first time & am in love! I tried a crunch roll with white tuna & it was incredible. I was shocked at how yummy uncooked food can be! 😉 I ordered a 6 oz. fillet mignon for my entree & I cannot even begin to describe how delicious it was. I ordered it cooked medium well, but when I cut into it, it was still rather pink. *NOTE: I am not normally a steak eater. I have had steak maybe twice before this place. I usually eat chicken & fish, but because this place had such a great reputation, I figured I should try a steak. I didn’t dare send my fillet back because I figure these people know what they are doing–boy, am I glad I didn’t because it was the most delicious meal I have EVER had! I am saving up for when I can go back because it is incredible!

After dinner, we hit up a bar called Redmons & enjoyed a few cocktails (minus me–I was DD for the evening) before heading back home for the night.

Us girls cheezin big!

It was a long & tiring drive back to my folks house, but we made it in at about 2:30 AM & slept like a rock till about 11 the next morning. The fam got up on Easter Sunday & went to the local Bob Evans for a brunch before my sister & her boyfriend hit the road once again for South Carolina. However, Kate got to drive back my moms tahoe because her 2002 cavalier is falling apart lol. The AC went out on her drive up on Friday & then on Saturday while my dad was working on it, the headlights stopped working. So, for safety’s sake, he wanted her to leave her car so he could work on fixing it. But that means next weekend me & my little bro & mom & dad get to take a trip to Greensboro, NC (halfway marker between KY & SC) to meet my sister to trade cars again. A mini vaca for the weekend to get away for a bit. I’m excited & looking forward to some time away from the daily stresses of life. Carl & I had a falling out on Saturday night & have yet to speak to each other-even though we live together. This is our first big argument since our move in together, & aparently neither of us knows how to handle it. Guess we will eventually figure it out…

On a better note, I am looking forward to 5 o’clock & hitting up the tanning bed & gym with my co-worker/bestie Kel. Today is lower body so this is the gist of our workout ahead:

  • 30 mins elyptical
  • 3 sets of 15 reps on the ab machine (set at 65lbs)
  • 3 sets of 15 reps on the inner/outer thigh machine (70 lbs inner, 100 lbs outer)
  • 3 sets of 15 reps leg press (set at 160 lbs)
  • 100 reps on the calf machine (set at 55 lbs)
  • 3 sets of 15 reps of leg curls (set at 65 lbs)

T-minus 3 hours & 12 mins to go till I get my sweat on! Happy Monday!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

