11 Things to Know at 25(ish)

First off, last night’s beef stew was delish. I’m awesome.

Old school crock pot

I came across this article that one of my facebook friends had posted the link to.  Since I am a twenty-something, I decided to click on it and check it out.  You should too.

Reading through the list, I feel like I agree/am coming to agree/meet with 8 out of the 11 things listed; and here’s why:

#1: You Have Time to Find a Job You Love:

“You can go back to school now, switch directions entirely. You can work for almost nothing, or live in another country or volunteer long hours for something that moves you. There will be a time when finances and schedules make this a little trickier, so do it now. Try it, apply for it, get up and do it.”

Even though I am currently working in the field that I studied for and have a Master’s Degree in, it isn’t entirely the job/career I set out to obtain.  I am completely happy doing what I’m doing, don’t get me wrong there–but I have always wanted to travel and sight see and expose myself to things that I sometimes talk myself out of and think, ‘maybe someday…’  I like knowing that this time in my life is the perfect time for taking these chances.  Gives me the inspiration to take start planning some of my travel dreams.

#3 Don’t rush dating and marriage:

“Some people view marriage as the next step to happiness or grown-up life or some kind of legitimacy, and in their mad desire to be married, they overlook significant issues in the relationship. “Time is on your side.” Really, it is. “

This is so true!  Seemed like most of my high school graduating class was paired up and married before I even graduated college.  And now, almost half of those are divorced/no longer together.  Coming from a small, southern hometown, there is the expected rush of getting married right out of high school.  I have neverbeen the type of girl who “plans her wedding as a child” or dreamed of my “special day.”  I just don’t get it.  I have been with the same person for 6 years, and our relationship has outlasted some of our friends marriages (including their courtship prior to).  Honestly, I don’t see the point of marriage.  What would a piece of paper change (aside from tax reasons)?  I think people nowadays are rushing into marriage for the whole show of things.  Marriage is no longer about the commitment to one another and respecting vows–it has become a circus

(hello?! Kim K’s 72 day marriage?!!)

and a mere show to others of what all you can and can’t afford.  NOT the point of marriage.  I am content with where me and my partner currently are in our relationship and am beyond happy that he and I can make a commitment to one another without rubbing it in others’ faces or some stupid ring.

My loves

I’m not anti-marriage or anything, I’m just not to the point in my life where I feel it’s the next step for me.  I have grown up with the best example of making a marriage work by my amazing parents.

They too were high school sweethearts, and while they got married at a younger age than I am right now, they at least waited to start having kids for 6 years or so.  (That’s a whole other post–I AM anti-kids–hello? Dog-Mom!) 😉

#4 Give your best to friends & family:

“While twentysomethings can sometimes spend a little too much energy on dating and marriage, they probably spend too little energy on friendships and family.”

I know it’s horrible to say, but I feel that my older sister is rather guilty of this.  Everything happens according to her and her only  and as soon as a new boy enters the picture, it’s adios friends and family.  It has at least been a good example to me in how not to go about dating and efforts towards friends and family.

I don’t know what I would do without my family & friends.  They are my heart and I strive to make efforts daily often to keep in touch/ask for advice/just let them in as part of my life.  Friends and family are my backbone.  Don’t know what I would do without them.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#7 Be part of a church:

“Be patient and prayerful, and decide that you’re going to be a person who grows, who seeks your own faith, who lives with intention.”

I am working on this one.  During college, I found a wonderful church that I seriously enjoyed, understood the pastor’s message, and genuinely looked forward to attending.  I admit, I did not go as often as I should due to some late Saturday nights, but oh how I wish I would have.  Since graduating and leaving that church, I have yet to find one that touches me as much as that one.  During grad school, I don’t think I went to church at all except for Easter and Christmas Eve.  Now that Carl & I have moved once again, we have made an effort towards attending Sunday morning church services when his schedule allows.  With baseball, it’s sometimes difficult but we have found a nice little church in town that we have began attending regularly.  I even came to find out that a few co-workers attend the same church and have been so welcoming and encouraging of my attendance.  This has been so helpful inspiring and giving me courage to attend on my own on Sunday’s Carl has to work.  Truly what a church community should be doing, this one has.

#8 Find a Rhythm for Spiritual Disciplines:

“Figuring out how to stay close to God and to grow that relationship through activities and disciplines that complement your new schedule is critical for life now—and those habits will serve you for years to come.

#9 Volunteer:

“It’s easy to get caught up in your own big life and big plan in your 20s—you’re building a career, building an identity, building for a future. Find some place in your life where you’re building for a purpose that’s bigger than your own life or plan.

This is something that I have wanted to do for many years now, but just haven’t found the time.  As much as I feel rewarded when working with children as a counselor and giving my time, body, and monetary values to 5K runs for charitable organizations, I know I should volunteer more of my time and feel that happiness reward of helping others in need.  I try to “adopt” from an angel tree each year.  I can remember doing this as a kid from the big angel tree setup in the local mall and all the child asked for was socks.  Socks.  I can never think of a Christmas where all I asked for was socks.  Such a simple necessity that most kids who unwrap as a Christmas gift turn up their nose at and toss aside, moving on to another gift, hoping it’s some extravagant toy they asked for.  Purchasing that child socks for Christmas was something that has really stuck with me throughout the years and something I continue to think back on not only during the holiday season, but whenever I get the urge to splurge-I (try to) stop and ask myself, “Is this something I really need?”  Most of the time the answer is no, so I (again, try to-I’m not perfect and do splurge on occasion) lay it aside resist the temptation of buying something that I don’t need when so many others go without necessities to survive because they do not have the means to.  Last year, my mom & I adopted two dogs from an angel tree in a pet shop that lived in a shelter and were in need of food, supplies (collars/leashes), toys and treats.  We are suckers for our four legged friends and try to help out certain animal/pet organizations whenever we can, so we couldn’t NOT adopt an angel pet for Christmas! 

#10 Feed yourself and the People you Love:

“The act of feeding oneself is a skill every person can benefit from, and some of the most sacred moments in life happen when we gather around the table. The time we spend around the table, sharing meals and sharing stories, is significant, transforming time.

lil bro, big burger

Every holiday that involves family getting together to feast, I think of my amazing mom slaving away in the kitchen for hours.  She talks about dreading doing all the efforts that go into the preparation and organization of carrying out such a task, but I hope she gets as much out of the end result as I know I do.  With all us siblings grown and two of the three moved away from home, there aren’t too many sit down family dinners anymore.  So when those very few occasions roll around when we all come back together and sit around the same table stuffing our faces with a wonderful meal and reminiscing over past events, they are times that I (especially now) cherish and look forward to the next.

I too could not cook right out of college.  There were many a times (and still are) when I have to call up my mom to inquire as to how to cook certain meals.  But I am learning and educating myself not only how to cook, but what to cook in order to keep healthy and (hopefully) live a life of longevity.

And lastly,

#11  Don’t get stuck:

“Move, travel, take a class, take a risk. There is a season for wildness and a season for settledness, and this is neither. This season is about becoming.

With so many new changes taking place this year, now has become a good time of reflection.  I feel that I am proud of the life I am living.  Could I be living better?  Of course.  There’s always room for improvement.  I know this, I understand this, I embrace this.  I am proud of the accomplishments I have made for myself and continue to learn the value of setting goals and striving to surpass them–whether that through running, education, family, or career.  I know who I am, what I value, and what I believe.  I feel beyond content and happy with where I am currently in this journey of life and look forward to continue traveling honestly along life’s path.

 

One thought on “11 Things to Know at 25(ish)

Leave a Reply

