I have NOT died! :)

So, after a month’s absence I have FINALLY found time to update!

First of all, I hope all my fellow bloggers had a wonderful Christmas holiday spent with their families–I sure did.  Enjoyed some serious down time over my two weeks at home and even did some light running! YAY!!!  New Year’s celebration was low key this year–stayed home with my mom and dad counting down the minutes to midnight (not in the typical NYE fashion, more along the lines of forcing myself to stay up that late :)).

My mom’s HUGE Christmas tree

Lil bro & Teddy

“Stockings were hung by the chimney with care”

 

I haven’t made any kind of “resolutions” for 2012, mainly because I am very content with where I am in my life at this moment.  Of course there are areas where I can make slight adjustments, but I can’t seem to designate things that I need to set as resolutions for this new year.  The one area that I will be devoting more time and effort into is my running routines.  I want to make more of an effort in setting aside time out of my day to just run.  My sister and I went on a few runs together while at home and that was just the motivator I had been missing.

I am so determined on running more this year that I even applied for the NYC Marathon in November 2012–this is the year I become “a marathoner.”  I am hoping and praying with all my being that I get accepted to run since I am applying as as non-guaranteed entrant.  It kills me that I won’t find out for sure if I am selected or not until April! **Any suggestions on how to go about applying through charities??**I’m new to this whole world!  So, until I find out one way or the other, I have registered to run a half-marathon in March in Florida!  One of my close friends from college lives in the city it is being held and is also running, so I’m glad I will have a fellow supporter!  I have researched half marathon training plans and found one that I modified to my fitness level and time leading up to race day.  I am two weeks in and definitely feeling the effects–but LOVING the results!  It’s a huge undertaking, but I am willing and know I can push myself to achieve running 13.1 miles 🙂  I’m doing 6 this Saturday, then it’s up 2 miles every Saturday from here till race day.  Pumped!

Upon coming back to work in the new year, I have been NOT STOP!  Registration for classes has been wild in my office AND I have been putting together a semester of assignments for my class that I am teaching!  At first, I was weary about teaching and figured I would just completely bomb as a teacher, but 2 weeks in and I am feeling I am getting the hang of it.  As the saying goes–think I’m ready for the training wheels to come off!  It truly is satisfying when you can get across to students what you want them take from your teachings.

Nothing else to really update on, just wanted to post!  It’s grocery night, so Carl & I are heading to Wal-Mart after work to stock up.  Hopefully last us 2 weeks–to pay day!  That boy can EAT!! Lol  I will definitely keep updating on days that I train-more motivation for me to stick with it.

A few pics from break:  Ta-ta for now!

Lola playing with “Octty”

Girls Night!

Snow, ugh!

Cuddles!

Leave a Reply

