Damn you, Bon Jovi

WARNING:  I am coming off a major running high right now, so this might be a long one…

As you know, I am training for my first half marathon in March and today’s accomplishment is one for the books.  First off, I tried posting Friday afternoon, but it kept messing up so here’s a bit of a recap over the weekend:

CamelBak Charm

For those of you who don’t know (aka, my mother) these are a hydration system within a backback that carries 50 oz. of water to keep you hydrated during distance runs.  It spares you the fun of juggling a water bottle while running.  I ordered mine from amazon.com and got two day FREE shipping! That student Prime membership is SO worth it–if you don’t have Prime with amazon, I highly reccomend it.  Anyways, I was super pumped when this was delivered to my office Friday afternoon and today I was able to break it in…more on that later.

Friday was a rest day and I took full advantage of that by cuddling up with Lola while catching up on some of our weekly television shows via HuluPlus that Carl doesn’t enjoy watching with us-i.e.: Parenthood, New Girl, Grey’s Anatomy-ya know, “girly” shows.  Much enjoyed down time with my baby girl for sure.

Saturday’s training was to consist of 35 minutes of some form of cross training, so I decide to take advantage of the GORGEOUS (sunny & 75) weather and whip out my ol’ bike with my doggie basket attached so Lola took take part too.  She’s such a great little coach.

Let’s Go!

Biking is HARD!!!  Whew!  20 minutes of that and my legs were about spent!  Not to mention my tushie muscles were seriously burning!  But we did about 2.5 miles and called it a day.  Started getting cloudy on us, so we returned home, got cleaned up, and settled in for another day of blowing up HuluPlus.  Discovered the complete series of The X-Files on there yesterday and we were set 🙂  Carl was working all day so I just had a heaping bowl of spaghetti with sause to carb load for Sunday’s distance run of 6 miles.

Yumm-O

So that brings us to today.  6 miles I had to conquer.

Before–Determination

Something I haven’t done since last April competing in my first 10K.  But I was determined to complete those 6 miles today.  I was well rested, carb loaded, and had a breakfast of toast with Nutella, strawberry low-fat yogurt, and coffee.  I had my CamelBak to keep me hydrated, my Garmin to track my pace, and my tunes to keep me pumped–too pumped at one point.

CamelBak!

I was just into mile 1 and Bon Jovi’s ‘Livin on a Prayer’ was blaring in my ears.  I was feeling good and was falling into a good rhythm, singing along in my head, “Whoooaaa! Take my hand and we’ll make it I swear. Whoooaaaaaaaaaa!!!!”  I was too into the song and landed right on a fallen pine cone and slightly twisted my ankle.  No pain or damage done, so I took a slight survey around me to make sure there were no witnesses to my fumble.  Damn you, Bon Jovi.  Rockin’ out too hard almost injured me.

Upon recovery from my Bon Jovi blunder, I was just a little into mile 2 and I started feeling it for sure.  I thought, “how can I be hurting already at mile 2?!”  I hadn’t taken the weather into consideration: it is humid as hell here today.  It’s been a wet few days, 70 degrees and partly cloudy, but 77% humidity.  Ugh.  Gotta get used to this southern air I suppose.  But I took a short break (.10 mi) to walk it off and catch my breath and then got right back into sync.  Mile 3 came and passed and I was feeling okay.  Then at mile 4, I took a hilly route.  I am really surprised how hilly southern Alabama is!  So I paused and walked another .10 of a mile to catch my breath (and give my booty a break!) and then finish strong.  I was in the home stretch of mile 5, feeling strong, finishing on a down hill and it started to sprinkle a bit.  I panicked at first thinking the heavens are going to open up on me so I gotta push it to not only finish in time, but to get home without getting washed away!  But I was so hot and the rain actually felt good, so I embraced it and could see the finish up ahead.  I just kept telling myself to push it, push it, push it…almost there, almost there….and then, I was there.  I had done it.  Just like that.  6.2 miles ran, 6.52 total in 1:16.  I ran the 6.2 in 1:10, which isn’t as bad as I was thinking it would be.  Considering I ran my first 10K last April in 1:04, and haven’t ran 6 miles consistently since then.

 

Today was definitely an accomplishment.  To sum up a few lessons learned today:

After–Exhaustion.

1.)  Early bird gets the worm:  I really should start running in the early morning hours not only because of having to be at work at 8AM everyday, but after running in this humidity today, I want to do everything in my power to avoid it in the future.

2.)  Don’t over do it.  I’m usually pushing myself to constantly run and not take walking breaks, but today I found that when I do, to set a limit of how long and then push yourself once you’ve caught your breath.  Rest is a part of training too.

3.)  The human body is an amazing intstrument.  I love setting goals for myself to see if I can even achieve them, and when I do–I’m not sure there’s a better feeling than overcoming something that seemed so impossible at one time.

So, now that I have kicked my own ass today, the rest of the day’s activities include catching up on Tori & Dean: Home Sweet Hollywood on HuluPlus (yes, I’m addicted) and maybe for some added inspiration later, Spirit of the Marathon.

 Now, off to shower.  Is it bad that my dog avoids me I am so sweaty & smelly??

5 thoughts on “Damn you, Bon Jovi

  1. SO MUCH TO SAY:

    1. camelbaks make life 100000x easier
    2. humidity blows. this I know
    3. spirit of the marathon is amazing
    4. you just made me want to go run a trillion miles

Leave a Reply

