Almost there

The weather cooperated with me last night and I was able to push out 5 miles after work.  I was beginning to worry at lunch time yesterday because it started to get cloudy-like big, dark clouds-and I was hoping it wouldn’t start pouring the rain.  The rain held off, but the wind picked up.  Gusts reached up to 15mph and were working against me and the humidity was around 75% (temps already at 73), but I felt pretty good overall.  Held a sub-10 min/mi pace for the first 4 miles, but that last one nearly killed me.  Always the last one.  Finished in a little over 51 minutes, so not terrible but could be better.  Happy to have completed the 5 miles and felt good overall about the run.  Now just preparing for my last distance run this weekend before the half next Sunday!

Carl is in Mississippi for the weekend with the baseball team, so Lola & I had a girls night last night.  Threw together a Blueberry Banana Protein smoothie for post-run recovery and man, is there anything more delish than blueberries and chocolate protein?!?  That thing just tasted so good to me last night. Here’s the recipe:

  • 1 cup blueberries (frozen)
  • 1 banana (sliced)
  • 2 scoops chocolate protein powder
  • 4 oz. vanilla soy milk
  • ice cubes

Blend this bad boy to perfection in the blender and voila!  Heaven in a cup, I swear.

Is it bad that I slept like a bear last night having the bed to myself?? I know how some couples talk about having trouble sleeping when they are alone, but I am the complete opposite.  It was so nice to be able to sprawl out in the middle of the bed and enjoy my own personal space–ya know, like Carl does-EVERY NIGHT.  I slept so sound and did not want to get up this morning.  Glad tomorrow is Saturday for sure.

Happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

