Future Plans

Back in January (as soon as it was made available to the public) I took a chance and registered for the ING New York City Marathon this November. I know the chances are slim to none that I get drawn from the lottery to actually participate, but I figured what the heck? As much as I would absolutely LOVE for NYC to be my first marathon, I can always run it somewhere else.

Carl mentioned to me however, about inquiring with the university at which I am employed on sponsoring me…he doesn’t have many good ideas, but this one got my attention. (I kid!) But seriously, I am going to do some further research on the ING NYC Marathon page and then on who to contact here at the university to see what I can work up. I know you can also get sponsored by charities, but raising upwards of $5,000 kinda freaks me out–but maybe that’s where the university can pitch in? Who knows.  I’m new to all this.  Wish me luck!

Since the marathon is November 4, 2012 this year I Googled Marathon Training Plans yesterday to see what I have ahead of me.  I figure since I trained for and completed a half, the full is my next goal.  So I have settled on the Hal Higdon Intermediate 1 Marathon Training program.  I debated between this and the Novice 2 program, but I told myself go big or go home, right? Right.  Intermediate 1 it is.  Not gonna lie, the plan kind of intimidates me but it’s 26.2 miles!  It IS intimidating.

Flipping through my calendar I counted 18 weeks out from November 4th.  Know what date I will start training?

July 2nd.

Know why that’s significant?

It’s my 25th birthday.

BOOM.  How awesome is that?  That’s when it was confirmed within me that I must do this and it was just meant to be as I often say (yes, I am a huge believer in things working out the way they are supposed to–if you just have faith, fate will follow).

So now I just have to focus on keeping my fitness and endurance level where it’s currently at.  I plan on running a few more half-marathons between now and then.  The next one as soon as a month from now in Pensacola, FL. It’s cheaper than my first one was and it looks like another run with pretty scenery-big plus.

Eek!! So excited to start working toward my next running goal!

What are some running goals you have set for yourself?

What goals have you already accomplished?

3 thoughts on “Future Plans

  1. That is AWESOME. I’m going to follow a modified version of his Novice 1 plan for my second marathon. 🙂

    • you can do either/or–qualify for a guaranteed entry, or enter thru the lottery. since i want NYC to take my marathon v-card, i’ma do my best to get lucky!

Leave a Reply

