How good are rice cakes?!?

Last Friday while Carl was out of town, I stopped by the grocery to pick up a few essentials to get me through the weekend.  I walked past these in the snack isle and have been blowing them UP since then!

rice cakes!

As a kid, I remember these being in our snack cabinet (my mom’s snack, not mine).  Of course wanting to mimic everything my mom did, I would ask for a bite of one of her rice cakes whenever she would be snacking on one.  Having that adolescent palate that is only satisfied by sugar and salt, I HATED rice cakes!  I recall making the comparison of “eating Styrofoam.”<–and yes, there may have been a Styrofoam eating incident-I did have a hateful older sister.  Anyways, I am so glad I picked these up last week because they are amaze-balls topped with some Nutella for a light dessert to kick the sweet tooth cravings.  Also good with my second fave, PB and honey drizzled.  Onto running updates:

Went out on a 3 mile run last night after work.  Wasn’t bad, but wasn’t great either.  I attempted a HIIT workout as part of the 3 miles–I ran for 3 minutes at a moderate/comfortable pace then sprinted for 1 minute; repeated 6 times.  It wasn’t as bad as I was expecting it to be.  But the weird thing is, it was one of my slowest 5K times.  I figured if I were sprinting for 6 minutes total, that would get me to 3.1 miles faster, right? But it didn’t.  Oh well.  Wasn’t running for a PR anyways.  I think I will have start to incorporate HIIT workouts into my normal routine to see if they give the results they say they do.

So you know how about a month ago I won a goody bag from a local running shop for liking their post on Facebook?? Well, I won something from there again! (Maybe I spend too much time on Facebook?…..nah!) They were offering a free entry into a local 5K this tomorrow.  I was the first to comment and therefore, the winner! SCORE! I find it hard to shell out 25 bucks to run a 5K anymore now that I run them on the reg.  Depending on how I feel tomorrow, I might go for a new 5K PR since it’s a freebie.

I’ve considered joining a charity to run the NYC marathon for this November.  I’ve kind of come to a dead end with figuring out how to go about getting sponsorship from the university I am employed since the marathon has nothing to do with education.  But Fred’s Team is a charity benefiting cancer research–started in honor of Fred Lebow, the founder of the NYC marathon.  I really like that this charity not only benefits further cancer research but has comes from such a rich, historic background with Fred Lebow.  Mr. Lebow ran 69 marathons in 30 countries, even ran 1970 inaugural NYC marathon, finishing 45th out of 55 runners.  I like that he had the passion for running; not winning:

“In running, it doesn’t matter whether you come in first, in the middle of the pack, or last. You can say, ‘I have finished.’ There is a lot of satisfaction in that.” — Fred Lebow

I feel like that is the true meaning when it comes to running a distance of 26.2 miles.  Being the first across the finish line has it’s rewards, but crossing the finish line-regardless of time-is an accomplishment that only .1% of Americans can attest to.  That figure makes me want to complete a full marathon so much more. What encouragement to train and push yourself to finish 26.2 miles–to be able to enter into the elite club of being “a marathoner”–amazing.

The deal is, I would have to raise $6,000 for a guaranteed entry.  I am allotted until November 19th (the race is Nov.4th) to raise the funds and will be provide with a few perks; 2 night hotel fare and training programs being the big draw for me 🙂  To me, $6,000 is A LOT of money.  I understand the money is going to a wonderful cause and if I am going to run my first marathon (in NYC!), might as well be doing good for others along my journey, right?  But I can’t help but think, what if?  What if I don’t come up with the $6,000? What I am unable to raise is left up to me! I don’t have six grand laying around! What if I can’t run 26.2 miles?  What if I train for months and something happens that hinders me from running come race day?  Am I crazy for wanting to do this?  What a kick in the ass it would be to get training started–and actually stick to it–knowing you HAVE to run it for this charity AND raise $6,000! I think I’ll give myself the weekend to mull it over and perhaps register come Monday.

Any thoughts to help persuade me, one way or the other??

Would you be willing to help with a donation?! 😉

Leave a Reply

