In It For The Long Haul

To lift our sprits from the last post, I am turning my focus back to health & fitness. I’m running the NYC Marathon in less than 5 months & my “official” 18 week training plan starts July 2nd, so I had better get my butt in gear. It’s not that I haven’t been keeping active, just not as much as I should be (taking 2 or 3 rest days a week instead of only 1). And that’s all thanks to the amazing girls over at toneitup and their awesome workout routines & recipes.

clip_image002

Those workouts are NO JOKE. Seriously gets your heart pumping & works muscles I forgot I had when strictly running as my only form of fitness. Thanks to this website, I am getting into toning/strength training more. I would LOVE to purchase their nutrition plan–which is only $150—which doesn’t seem like a whole lot at a normal time in my financial life, but between rent, utilities, groceries, gas, student loans, & trying to get my butt to NYC come November—my budget is whittling as we speak.

clip_image004

I want to be as serious as serious gets when it comes to training for this marathon. Go big or go home as the saying goes. So that’s why I would really like to focus on my diet/nutrition more closely. I have been lucky enough throughout my 24 years to never have to really “diet,” just keep up the exercise routine & cut back when the waistline of my clothes becomes noticeably tighter. However, I am not 100% comfortable in my skin either. I’m still weary when bikini season rolls around each year. I wish I could be “that girl” that exudes confidence in a two-piece & looks good without being a size 0, ya know? While I realize it takes hard work with a regular exercise regime, that’s only half the battle-nutrition is the second half. Something I have never forced myself to be strict with. Also, why does it always break the bank to buy organic or “healthy” foods?? SO not fair!

A few foods that are nutritious & I have been really loving lately are as follows:

  • Oikos Vanilla Greek Yogurt

Photo Jun 03, 9 39 29 AM Photo Jun 03, 9 40 47 AM

  • Emerald Breakfast on the Go, S’mores Blend = amazing. Cocoa roasted almond, honey roasted peanuts, & granola with milk chocolate candies (like M&M’s) are delish on top of some Oikos Vanilla Greek Yogurt. Plus, you can get a $1.00 off coupon here http://www.emeraldbreakfastonthego.com/

clip_image008

  • WATERMELON!!!! My mom hates watermelon, and I cannot for the life of me understand why. This fruit is so good! Carl & I picked one up on our most recent trip to Wal-Mart last week (which is already demolished) & it is undoubtedly the best way to start off the summer season.

clip_image010

  • Kettlecorn. Okay, it might be the healthiest of choices, but Carl & I went down to Panama City, FL on Friday to a festival with this vendor among many & I cannot just walk on by?!? Another of my faves!

clip_image012

Lola seemed to enjoy it too. The bag is ¾ empty already…

Photo Jun 01, 9 14 28 PM

I’ll be heading home to KY this weekend for a visit & it could not come at a better time. I have been running around work like a chicken with it’s head cut off for going on 2 weeks now. I realize that’s not a long time, but it’s still summertime & I am dreaming of my parents’ pool to lay out in! I’m hoping to also get my butt in gear with running/working out since I won’t have a full schedule every day to juggle. 2 more days!!!

Leave a Reply

