Selfish

Did everyone go out & run yesterday in celebration of National Running Day?!?

I got a quick 3 miles in after dinner last night.  It was near perfect weather for it too.  A little more cloudy than usual at 6:30 in the evening so the sun was beating down on me, & the humidity wasn’t as terrible as it has been either.  Was still a sweaty Betty by the end of it, but that’s not a bad thing.

It wasn’t an awesome run, nor was it miserable either-kind of in between.  My quads & toosh are a bit sore from Tuesday’s Tone It Up workout, so the legs were a bit heavy.  But I pushed through & got my run in.

Other good news:  I got approved for days off from work to go to New York in November!  I know what you’re thinking, “Isn’t that something you should have done BEFORE applying to run the marathon??”  Technically yes, but working at a university the academic calendars aren’t always set in stone by January of the beginning year (and honestly, I didn’t think I would be accepted to run) so I took a chance…and I got soooo lucky!

“Your 20’s are your ‘selfish’ years. It’s a decade to immerse yourself in every single thing possible. Be selfish with your time, and all the aspects of you. Tinker with shit, travel, explore, love a lot, love a little, and never touch the ground.”

–Kyoko Escamilla

This quote seemed to cement my desire to travel to NYC, run the marathon, & just enjoy my youth!  I am beyond excited & cannot put into words what this accomplishment will mean to me come November 4th, 2012.

As I said last post, I’m heading up to KY this weekend & some of my bestest friends that I used to work with during grad school are throwing me a “Marathon Shower”—like a bridal/baby shower, but celebrating the NYC marathon instead! I LOVE IT!  I love that my true friends get me.  I don’t want to get married (or at least, no time in the near future) & I for sure do NOT want any offspring & this celebration is gonna be WAAAY better than anything else-birthdays included.  Never really like my birthday.  What are we celebrating? That you are smart enough to have survived another year & you are another year older? Big whoop.  Weddings are basically celebrating the stupidity of two individuals who feel the need to have to display their emotions in front of all their friends & family while putting themselves into a pit of debt basically for a piece of paper.  And babies?…Don’t even get me started.  Running the NYC Marathon though?  That will be a true accomplishment.  Something that will define me.  Something I can be proud to say “I Did.”

Here is my fundraiser for the marathon! Please check out my page & donate.  If not, then please pass it along to those that are interested & at least educate yourself on the subject matter!

One love, all.

Leave a Reply

