Life’s a Beach

Saturday, I woke up at 5:00AM feeling good to knock out my scheduled 8 miles. I was worried my hip would act up & not allow me to complete the whole 8, so I decided to take it a little slower than usual—just in case. I told myself from the beginning to at least get 6 in if I start feeling pain in the hip. But thankfully, that never happened. I ran the whole 8 miles in 1:15. Like I said, I took things slowly & took maybe 3 walking breaks just to make sure my hip wasn’t injured further. It wasn’t an amazing run, but I completed what I set out to & felt great afterwards! Recovered with some chocolate milk post run.

Photo Jul 07, 8 14 56 AM

I felt so good after my run that I decided to drive down to Seacrest Beach, Florida to meet up & visit with some family from KY for the remainder of the weekend–just a 2 ½ hour drive south, not too shabby at all. Nothing like some sun, sand, & surf to recoop after a long run! Carl, Lola, & myself enjoyed the company of my fam & the beach, of course.

Photo Jul 07, 4 01 23 PM

Photo Jul 09, 3 53 29 PM

Photo Jul 09, 3 55 57 PM

Seacrest Beach is such a beautiful little place. Everything you need is located within a 3 mile radius of everywhere. You can seriously either walk or ride a bike anywhere without dying from exhaustion–so convenient. I didn’t want to leave! I mean, with an Orangeleaf fro-yo joint on the first floor of your condo resort, why would you need to go anywhere else?!

Photo Jul 08, 3 25 20 PM

Waking up on Sunday morning & walking around the corner from the condo to a coffee shop to sip our cup-o-joe with an ocean view, I told Carl I was ready to retire. I just turned 25 & I’m ready to be a retiree. Crazy, I know, but I do have an old soul & I appreciate every moment of down time I am able to enjoy nowadays, especially with family.

Summer 2012 001

Summer 2012 002

Summer 2012 006

Summer 2012 007

Summer 2012 004

Some cool houses along the beach.

Summer 2012 003

I even squeezed in a swim session in the ocean yesterday morning. I am typically not a swimmer in the ocean (I’ve watched way too much Shark Week), but the water is so clear down in the Gulf that I wasn’t too scared to get in past my ankles! First time in years! I had my goggles in my beach bag so I slapped those puppies on & went diving for sand dollars/seashells & swimming in the tide/rip currents, that was quite a workout! I was exhausted by the time we were heading home around 4 o’clock, so Carl got to drive home while Lola & I napped navigated. Sunday night is True Blood on HBO, so it was a perfect end to a perfect day.

No running for today’s training session; working on some toning/circuit training to strengthen the weak glutes to help keep my hip strong for this week’s goal of 20 total miles. Only 4 more miles than last week, so I think I can manage. No complaints of soreness or tiredness at this point, so here’s hoping this week’s runs go well. Happy Monday!

(pics from the 4th of July)

Summer 2012 008

Playing fetch while grilling hot dogs.

Summer 2012 011

Private seating (in the baseball bull pen) for the fireworks show 🙂  (Not sure why I have crazy eyes in this pic?)

Leave a Reply

