Workin’ for the Weekend

*Hip/Training Update:  After doing some strengthening exercises at lunch yesterday, icing, & ibuprofen, my hip was feeling a lot better by the end of the work day.  So I decided to test it out & hit the treadmill for the scheduled 5 miles-telling myself I could stop if it started to hurt, but give it a shot.  It started bothering me around 3.5 miles, but I figured I was that close-might as well finish with 5.

Image

I did.  It wasn’t a great time & I had to stop & walk it out twice, but I managed.  I just kept telling myself it’s going to have to take more than an ache in my hip to keep me from completing this!

Hip felt good again this morning when my alarm went off at 5:00AM.  Ran my 3 miles on the soft turf at the baseball field again to try & offer some relief to my joints.  They weren’t a great 3 miles.  Discomfort in my hip set in around 2 miles, but again I forced myself to complete 3.  Just one more mile I kept repeating to myself.  I took the time to ice my hip post run & popped some more ibu’s & no complaints up to this point in the day.  I can still feel the “weirdness” in my hip, but it’s not bad & nowhere near debilitating or anything.

I’m kind of dreading my long run of 9 miles tomorrow morning though.  Tomorrow is a scheduled rest day & then 9 miles for Saturday, but I am heading out of town tomorrow mid-morning & will be in a new/unfamiliar place Saturday morning to attempt any long run.  Plus, I want to get the run done & over with so I can enjoy my weekend retreat with some college besties!

Image

Throwback to the college years…oh, what I wouldn’t give to go back to the good ol’ days.

I’m meeting my friend from Louisville, KY (the tiny blonde one-“E”) at the Atlanta airport Friday afternoon & we will be going to a Sugar Ray concert that evening.  Sounds like a pretty good lineup: Lit, Everclear, Marcy Playground, Gin Blossoms, & Mark Magrath (hubba, hubba!) Sugar Ray?!? Yes please! Pretty excited!  Then Saturday, we are heading on over to the East Coast to meet up & stay with our other bestie, “K” in Savannah, GA.  I’ve never visited Savannah before, so I’m looking forward to the visit.  K just got engaged in March & her wedding is this upcoming October, & neither E nor I have met her fiancé yet so he will for sure be getting grilled between the two of us.  E & I have no shame when it comes to speaking our mind 🙂

Hooray for long weekends & college friends reunions!

2 thoughts on “Workin’ for the Weekend

  1. If your hip is still giving you issues, maybe you ought not run 9 miles tomorrow… I know you’re in training mode, but its better to take it easier and not tear yourself up than push it and not be able to run at all.. 😦 Savannah is only 2 hours south of me. Its beautiful there. I’m sure you’ll have a great time!!

    • I know! I’ve been going back & forth on whether or not to complete the full 9…if it’s terrible, I’ll take it easy but you’re right–I am in FULL training mode! Lol Thanks!

Leave a Reply

