Christmas Survey

This weekend’s shopping expedition was a success!  I have everybody a gift, now just a few last minute details to add–I feel it’s the little things that really make a gift special!  So besides those, all I have left is wrapping everything.  That’s on the agenda for this weekend.

Since I’ve seen this survey pop up in my reader a few times & it is the holiday season, I figure I will add to the random knowledge:

1. Favorite Christmas Album/CD/Song?

Growing up, while we decorated the tree the CD player consisted of a reliable mix among Steve Warinersteve

Amy Grantamy grantJames Taylorjames-taylor-at-christmasMariah CareyMariah-Carey-Merry-Christmas_Charlie Brown ChristmasCharlie-Brown-ChristmasAnd over the years my mom & I have added Michael Buble into the mixmichael buble

And I am thinking of downloading Rod Stewart’s new Christmas album.  (I’m an old soul-have always loved ol’ Rod.)rod stewart christmas

2. Run on Christmas morning or take the day off?

If it’s a beautiful day, why not?!? I remember last year was GORGEOUS and my sister and I went for a run that morning.  As long as the weather is cooperative & I feel like taking a run, I go for it.  Holidays don’t necessarily mean a day off! Plus, if you get a sweat session in early in the day then you get to have a little extra on your plate at dinner!

3. What do you usually eat on Christmas morning?

I don’t believe we have ever had a Christmas breakfast norm…I’m usually sneaking olives, carrots, & celery off the veggie plate my mom puts together for dinner!  But I always start my mornings off with a cup of coffee!starbucks kcups4. Favorite holiday or Christmas tradition?

Besides the normal decorating & trimming the tree to the awesome mix of tunes listed above, I don’t know that we have many “traditions” that carry over each year.  We change it up every year seems like from opening presents on Christmas Eve to Christmas Day–depending on how badly we cannot wait!  One thing we always do is dinner with family.  As someone who has lived away from home for going on 8 years, Christmas to me means home.  The tradition of coming back to your childhood home & spending time with family.  A tradition we have started in the past couple of years is having a fire in the fireplace each Christmas.  I absolutely LOVE sitting by a real fire.  I hardly watch television when I go home (& we even have DirectTV!) because I spend so much time by the fire instead.

5. Real tree, fake tree, or no tree?

As a young child, I remember we always had a real tree.  Mom & Dad would even drive us all out to a tree farm where we could pick out our tree & cut it down on site.  That was so much fun & something I vividly remember looking forward to each holiday season.  But at some point, they decided to change things up & purchase an artificial tree.  I remember being so heart-broken over this change for some reason, I even pouted by not participating in decorating the “fake tree” that year!  I know it’s silly now & I have even purchased a fake tree of my own in my adult years, but there is just something special about a real tree 🙂

6. Christmas Pajamas…yay or nay?

I’m pretty sure I have a new pair to wear each year, so…yay!  They’re also a great gift to give to others!

7. Where do you spend the holidays?  Your own house, your parents’ house, extended family, in-laws, friends?

My parents’ house & my grandmother comes down (only 20 minutes away).  Since both my parents are only children, that’s the extent of our family!  I have cousins that live about an hour west of us that come down in the evening post-dinner to visit.  Carl talks about “one day” getting both of our families together, but that just sounds like a headache to be honest.  I would love to some day take the chef role from my mom, but it just depends where we (me & my siblings) each end up when we “grow up.”  Plus, Carl’s parents are divorced so we would always have to end up having two separate get togethers.  But it’s nice that we are both from the same home town & typically we just spend our holidays with our families & go our separate ways while we are home!

8. Food that you always have during the holiday season?  Favorite Christmas food/treat?

Hmm…more like what DON’T I have during the holiday season!  I always allow myself Thanksgiving & Christmas while I’m home to splurge on food.  I at least always try to counter balance my indulgences with keeping up with running/fitness.  My mom’s ham would be my food that we always have for Christmas dinner & my favorite.  That & broccoli casserole.  Mmmmm….

9. Open presents all at once or take turns?  Stockings…yes or no?

I think we take turns?  Or maybe we all open at once…I don’t really remember!  Stockings are a definite yes–these are the “little things” I was referring to earlier.  “Santa” is really nice to include each of our favorite junk foods, snacks, & necessities (batteries, toothbrush, chap stick, etc.)  I always checked my stocking first as a kid on Christmas morning.

10.  Favorite Christmas movie?

Gosh, this is a tough one.  There are so many to choose from!  My top faves are as follows:

Christmas Vacation (because we all quote this one)vacation

Home Alone & Home Alone 2: Lost in New York

home alonehome alone 2Bad Santa (Billy Bob’s best role)bad santa

ElfelfAnd of course, A Charlie Brown Christmaspeanuts

As you can see, I prefer the funnier Christmas movies.  Never been a fan of the sappy flicks–although that little Linus at the end of Charlie Brown always gets me a little teary-eyed!

Leave a Reply

