If at first you don’t succeed…

nyc tee

Try, try again.  This past weekend marked the beginning of February, so that meant no more excuses.  Not only do I want to get back into the habit of running to keep in shape for even better training results this summer for the marathon, but also I want to do more strength training to insure I have wedding dress-worthy arms & back come June.  Operation: Buff Bride was born!  My little brother has always teased me about having “teacher arms” so I am determined not to have them flapping in the wind when I get married on the Jamaican shore.

Saturday morning I whipped out my new yoga mat (Christmas present from the lil bro), pair of 5lb. weights, & hit up yogadownload.com for some stretching & strength training.  This site is awesome.  I lucked out on Black Friday with a special of $9.99 a month for unlimited classes/downloads/stream.  Which ended up working out with my budget this year because our X-box died last month (R.I.P.) cancelling my X-box Live subscription of the same amount.  Plus, unlimited yoga versus unlimited movies is better for me anyway.

I did some researching on the site & came across a Yoga Sculpt class—basically, yoga with weights.  I know Carl many people view yoga as simply stretching rather than a form of intense exercise, but it really is!  The practice of your breathing incorporated with holding certain poses targets muscles you forgot you had.  You can seriously feel your efforts the next day from yoga alone.  Incorporate weights into holding those poses & whoo-wee!  I have to admit that I could not complete the entire 60 minute series of this course my first attempt, but it gave me something to work toward accomplishing over the next couple of months.

Sunday, I wanted to continue with my new found energy and my routine of fitness so I plucked my “marathon Mizunos” out of retirement & hit the pavement.  I was aiming for 3 miles, no more than 5—it was Super Bowl Sunday after all & I was going to be partaking in pizza & beer during the game.  I only did 3.2…barely.  After 3 months of few & far between workouts/runs, I was definitely feeling my neglect.  But it also felt great!  The rush of endorphins & the mental struggle of pushing myself because I know I can=bliss.  Running, yoga, & daily toning workouts from the dynamic duo over at toneitup.com—I think I’ve got my groove back!

snugglesPerfect end to a productive weekend ❤

One thought on “If at first you don’t succeed…

  1. I definitely feel you on the feeling of neglect regarding running. I took a little break from running for about a month and a half and recently renewed my love for it. It was tough at first but, after stepping out again, I remember why I love it. Sometimes we need a little time apart in order to make us remember why we did it to begin with.

Leave a Reply

