Before & After

Last week, for whatever reason, I had an abundance of energy that needed to be exerted into something other than running. My girl over at milesandmascara just posted on this exact topic last week-go check it out! So I decided to focus my attention on my home by re-doing a piece of furniture that was bestowed upon me as a freebie from where I work.

Photo Sep 20, 5 19 02 PM Our kitchen is rather small, so storage is an issue. When this diamond in the rough was being booted from our office I was the first to call dibs on it, seeing its underlying potential. The color scheme of our kitchen is pretty basic: gray walls with off-white trim & cabinets–perfect for allowing a pop of color to be incorporated with a few key pieces. This bookcase was ideal for adding character to a rather bland canvas & for my first attempt with chalk paint.

anniesloan2527schalkpaint-1000blog

A local shop sells Annie Sloan chalk paint & gives tutorials, so this was strictly the only deciding factor in my choice of paint—convenience. (What can I say? I hate making decisions, but when given a choice I typically go with what’s easiest.) Even with all the color choices, one stood out to me above the rest. Duck Egg Blue. It’s beautiful. Not too in-your-face-blue, but also on the edge of hints-of-green. Just lovely.

Now, I know some people struggle with the costliness of chalk paint, & I will admit I was one of those people. So I first attempted to make my own chalk paint with a recipe I found on (where else) Pinterest by mixing some leftover latex paint we already had with plaster of paris ($3 at Wal-Mart) & water. This was a failed attempt for sure. Mine turned out lumpy, thick consistency, & covered terrible. I tried to be frugal, but of course as most things in life go, you get what you pay for. The legit chalk paint was the next option & boy is it awesome.

The quart of Duck Egg Blue was the only name-brand thing I bought. I decided against the wax brush & clear coat wax because I had read on several blogs that MinWax Finishing Paste does the same job for a fraction of the price & let’s be serious, $35 for a paint brush?!? I don’t think so.

I used those 2” black foam brushes from Wal-Mart for .69 cents each. And yes, it turned out just fine because that’s the beauty of chalk paint. Somehow, in all it’s magical beauty, brush strokes seriously disappear on their own as the paint dries.

I painted the inside of the bookcase (laying it down on the floor) starting with the top shelf & working my way down. By the time I finished with my first coat on the last shelf, the top was already dry so I went on & did a second coat on each. The next day, I stood the bookcase upright & painted two coats on the outsides & top. I was already in love with the outcome prior to waxing the piece & hesitated at first on whether or not to wax. But again, thanks to the internet I read up on several websites about the importance of sealing the paint & protecting against future damage & waterproofing. Since this piece was going to be housed in our kitchen & a stand for our microwave, I decided to roll up my sleeves & get to waxing.

It’s super easy. Just used an old cotton tee shirt & rubbed the wax into the piece, shelf by shelf working from bottom to top, & then gently buffed/polished the wax to a slight sheen. I was very happy with the outcome post-waxing. The wax actually brought out a deeper hue of the paint & allowed the wood grain underneath to show through which really adds to the piece overall.

Photo Sep 26, 6 36 23 PMPhoto Sep 30, 1 25 40 PM

Now, I want to chalk paint just about every piece of furniture in our house because it really adds that little extra touch to a room. My next project I attempted this week was a spice rack that belonged to my grandmother.  I painted it in the same duck egg blue to continue with the pops of blue in our kitchen.

Photo Sep 30, 1 27 30 PM                        Photo Sep 30, 6 29 50 PM

photo (1)

Really spruces it up, don’t ya think?! I LOVE it!

FYI: I purchased a quart of chalk paint for this project & didn’t even use half of it. This stuff seriously goes a long way, so if you’re weary of biting the bullet with the cost, it is so worth it.

One thought on “Before & After

Leave a Reply

