Reboot for Life

I’ve been wanting a juicer for awhile now—pretty much ever since I watched Fat, Sick, & Nearly Dead on Netflix.  If you’ve not yet watched it, go check it out.  Basically, this guy who is overweight & has a skin disease & on loads of medicines drinks nothing of juice of fruits & veggies for 60 days.  Not only does he loose weight but he no longer has symptoms of his skin disease & no longer has to take his medications.  He looks like whole new person.  It’s amazing.  And all from eating/drinking fruits & vegetables.

So then I watched Food Matters, Vegucated, Hungry for Change, & Food Inc. A bit of a documentary binge if you will.  All of these are great & hugely informative.  Not only do they all advocate the increase of fruit & vegetables in our American diet, but also the industry of food (Food Inc.) and how pretty much all our food comes from the same big time companies.  It’s kind of scary.  Really struck my interest in not only my own health & diet, but how I can help make a change.

That was basically the last push I needed to finally purchase a juicer & start my path to overall healthier me.

Yesterday I arrived home to this waiting on my front porch.

Photo May 16, 4 19 18 PMI had already done my research through Joe Cross’ website & decided on a 15 day cleanse.

Photo May 16, 6 49 06 PM

Photo May 16, 6 49 26 PM

Photo May 16, 6 49 36 PM

Photo May 16, 6 49 56 PM

It’s 5 days of clean eating & juicing followed by 10 days of only juicing.  I could not control my excitement so I was straight off to WalMart after opening my juicer to stock up on the essentials for my first 5 days.

Photo May 16, 6 20 26 PM

Of course, I couldn’t wait a whole day to use the thing! So I whipped up my first concoction consisting of two apples, two carrots, & two celery stalks.

Photo May 16, 6 37 32 PM

I’ll admit, I was a bit nervous to try it.  But it was surprisingly good!  Eased my nerves with doing this thing for 15 days.  But I’ve started off this morning with my morning hot water with lemon & just pulled my apple cinnamon bake from the oven to chow down on for breakfast.  I’m excited & looking forward to feeling better & getting better about incorporating more fruits & veggies in my diet.  I expect challenges & difficulties as I’m basically having to “reset” my mind & body’s cravings.  But I remind myself when those times arise I trained for a marathon for a whole year.  I then completed that marathon.  If I can physically exert myself for those extended amounts of time, I can surely do this cleans for 15 days.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

