Why The Beginning of November is One of My Most Favorite Times of the Year

If you know even the slightest about me, you know how obsessed I am with NYC.  And that I ran the NYC Marathon last year.

744282-1152-0003s

I was accepted to run the marathon in 2012.  This was feat in itself having entered the lottery.  I trained for four months.  I bought 2 new pairs of $100+ shoes.  I hurt in places I never imagined could hurt.  I made the trip up to NYC & less than 36 hours till the start, they cancel the race due to Hurricane Sandy.

I was devastated.  My months of hard work, for nothing.  The expenses, for nothing.  But my {then} boyfriend, within minutes of hearing the news of the cancellation, drops to one knee & proposes.  Talk about going from one extreme to the next!

IMG_0160

So the trip wasn’t a total bust.  We became engaged in my favorite city in the world & since I wasn’t running a marathon, I could celebrate! ßwhich I did…a little too much.  (4 months with no booze & my tolerance was a little low)

So I train for another three months in 2013 & make the trip once again to NYC.  No hurricanes or bad weather this time.  In fact, it was unusually warm this year being 68 degrees when we arrived 2 days before the race.

744257-1157-0006s

Race day 2013 was perfect.  Chaotic with the amount of people that were running & all traveling to the same location that morning, but perfect to me.  I will never be able to hear the Theme from New York, New York by Frank Sinatra without tearing up just a little.

744325-1348-0034s

744342-1161-0026s

I will never forget how unbelievably fast 26.2 miles went by (well, 24 miles-the last 2.1 felt like eternity!) But every mile was like a party through the streets thanks to the bands that were playing, the complete strangers that lined the entire course cheering out your name-giving you that little boost of energy just when you needed it, & the amazing volunteers at every water station. For just one day, I was a New Yorker…An experience unlike any other & one I will NEVER forget!

Leave a Reply

