Settling In

Where have the past 4 months gone??  The time since arriving in Ohio has flown by & yet, when I think back to February & all the SNOW we received, it seems like so long ago…

First & foremost, the 750 mile move went smoothly–even though it took roughly 16 hours to drive with a 26 foot U-Haul packed to the brim.  If we had to move in the winter, we couldn’t have picked a better time to make the move because a week after we arrived our area was hit with constant snow & ice storms like they haven’t experienced in years.  It was crazy.  I actually enjoyed the snow for the first time EVER.  I guess because I had been away from it for almost 4 years & I wasn’t working yet so I didn’t have to go out in it.

Ever since we have been settling into our new location, I continue to be amazed by the little things that just reinforce the notion that we are where we are meant to be (for the time being).  Also ironic how I talked about some of these things in my post here a mere 4 months before Carl was offered his new job.  Not only is it only 90 miles from our hometown & family, but there is a sense of community here like I’ve not yet witnessed anywhere else I’ve lived.

First of all, there are vegan & vegetarian options at practically every restaurant in town!  Even a few strictly vegan places.  That blew my mind when we first arrived.  Carl wanted to visit a local barbecue joint & I thought, okay I can get a salad.  But no–they have barbecue tofu!  So my tummy is in heaven here.

People are genuinely friendly & welcoming–not the southern hospitality front where they are simply being nice as an obligation & “bless your heart” is an insult–but seriously nice & take the time to get to know you & make sure you feel like a part of the community.

My heart is beyond full because of the proximity to “home” & the opportunities I have been able to visit family & friends.  I was able to spend my moms birthday & mother’s day with her (which hasn’t happened in years) & witness the birth of my Godson & actually get to spend time with both he & my Goddaughter & BFF; making memories together throughout the year rather than just once or twice.

My new job is wonderful.  The schedule, people, & work are fabulous.

And the icing on the cake of cementing for Carl & myself the decision to move was the right one for us…

the baseball team Carl is part of the coaching staff with (what brought us here!) WON their conference!  This team won 11 games last year…(they play around 40 games a season give or take).  This season, Carl’s first season with the team, they are champs of their conference & set a record with throwing a no-hitter during semi-finals of the tournament.  I couldn’t be more proud of my guy & his efforts & I couldn’t be more happy with where we are!

Leave a Reply

